Playing Dwarf Fortress pt. 02

df_coverWell, more like an addendum to Part 1. Just some screenshots of my little fortress.

 

 

“Let the fun begin… yeah, but not now, Iā€™m gonna save that for part 2.”

… just to quote myself. Thing is, I haven’t had any screenshots at hand when I published the first post a couple of days back, so here they are in all their ASCII glory. But in Part 3 the fun really begins, I promise. šŸ™„

Entrance (Ground floor)

1: Entrance with drawbridge 2: Farming area with brewery 3: Main storage room 4: Trade depot 5: Manager's office

1: Entrance with drawbridge 2: Farming area with brewery 3: Main storage room 4: Trade depot 5: Manager’s office

Yes, I’ve got a fancy drawbridge. No idea if it will keep enemies from entering my fort though, but am pretty sure I’ll find out sooner or later (got the feeling I built it the wrong way). That 3×3 area marked with >>>, right above the trading depot, are stairs leading deeper into my fortress.

Living- and working area (1st floor)

1: Former meeting hall 2: Bedrooms 3: Workshop area 4: Dining room 5: Wood furnace 6: Kitchen with butcher's shop and fishery

1: Former meeting hall 2: Bedrooms 3: Workshop area 4: Dining room 5: Wood furnace 6: Kitchen with butcher’s shop and fishery 7: Food storage room

The wiki advised me to build a large storage room for my food and booze. Thing is, mine is always a bit empty. Gee, those dwarves eat and drink a lot.

Smelters and metalsmith’s forge (2nd floor)

Three smelters and one metalsmith's forge

Three smelters and one metalsmith’s forge

Nothing much to say here, apart from the complete lack of proper metal. So far I haven’t found any ore that I could smelt into iron. Did find some tin, though, which is good for… well, nothing really.

I could show the 3rd floor as well, but then I would spoil some weird incident, something I want to save for Part 3…

Leave a comment [no email address required]

