Choplifter Revisited [ColecoVision]

chop_coleco_box2Well, I already did write about this game some days ago (which you can read here), but that was for the Commodore 64. Now, someone mentioned that it was also ported to the ColecoVision (cheers to Tim Hurley). I have to admit that I completely forgot about that [insert generic facepalm]. In fact, it was available on several systems back in the day, and that does include the ColecoVision.

The goal of the game is still the same: Jump into your helicopter and rescue those hostages. I fired it up and had the feeling that it was slightly faster than on the C64. This, and the graphics seem to be more colourful. There’s nothing much to add really, apart from a couple of images and a video. So here you go.

choplifter_coleco_002_02082014_203518

choplifter_coleco_004_02082014_203543

4 thoughts on “Choplifter Revisited [ColecoVision]

  1. Ah, there we go. That’s the Choplifter I remember. Well, except for the coloring. I don’t remember it being that bright, but this was… oh…25+ years ago now. Forgive my memory. 🙂

    • Never played it on the ColecoVision, so don’t know how it looked on the real thing. I took those images while using an emulator, perhaps that’s why they’re so bright. 😕

    • Could be. The colors look a little duller in the vid you added. The ‘pink’, in particular, isn’t as bright. Then again, I could be expecting too much, given that HDTVs and HD consoles did not exist at the time. I’m spoiled now. 😀

      • It’s most likely the combination of several things, like settings in the emulator when I took those images, the video capture software that dude used to record the video or, in your case, what telly you played on back in the day.

        And are we not all spoiled nowadays? 😀 There’s already Ultra HD out there, I’m curious what’s coming next.

Leave a comment [no email address required]